Development of Ideas and Sketches

Post 4

More researches and some sketches.

I thought about Feng Shui today, while I was looking for
materials about Chinese ancient architecture. This is a great idea to put into
my painting. In the ancient Chinese folk theory, the sky is a orb and the land
is a square. Thus, most of the Chinese ancient buildings are in longitudinal and
rectangular plan. These planning allude to a sense of stability, serenity and monumentality.

Feng means wind, while Shui means water. The Chinese believed
that the best place must have a perfect flow of energy, thus both mountains and
waters are necessary in acquiring a sustainable flow of energy within the environment.
Now I decide to add flowing water into my castle, or in this case, a palace. I
found many interesting theories on the imperial Chinese ancient palaces, and
they are included in my research book which I will photograph and post online
later.

Here are some pictures about water in Yuanming Yuan, the
royal garden in Beijing. The water looks so peaceful, and the waves are quite dynamic.

 

~ by xilain on November 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
