Goodbye Goodbye and Goodbye

Today’s class is about “Goodbye”. We were asked to use only the letter form of “goodbye” to create sense of happiness, sadness and emphasize (firmness or solitude, I guess). I started googling pictures of “sadness”, hoping to find something that will provoke ideas. Here are the ones that I saw emotions in.

Screen shot 2013-09-20 at 11.40.43 AM

I wished transparency would deliver a sense of sadness, or the lingering entangling connection.  But, transparency is not allowed, only the letter forms, and letters could not be distorted. I started with some experiments:Screen shot 2013-09-18 at 10.39.46 AM I really like the transparency, and sees it in a lot of digital/graphic designs. Although I didn’t get to use it, this is a very educational experiment. After I changed everything back to pure black, I slightly changed the position of the larger letters so that the weight center of the picture is still in the middle. From the beginning, I only thought about sadness, so the larger letters looked sad somehow. But they are the boldest and largest elements in the picture, so surely they will be emphatic.                 Screen shot 2013-09-18 at 10.50.38 AM   Then I added in happiness and sadness. They are much smaller. Happy “goodbye” is on top go the “good” or “G”, similar to a crown. I arranged the happy “goodbye” along the edges of G, so that they don’t have a straight baseline that is incongruous with my snatchy structure. I intentionally separated the sad “good” and “bye”, as if they were separated lovers. The letters are rotated so that the inclination brings in a sense of “cannot help but..”. I put the “bye” into death and “good” into panic.  But before this arrangement, I though about the story “Rapunzle”, and is thinking about putting the “bye” in “B”, but it looked strange. Here lets compare:

Screen shot 2013-09-18 at 11.31.10 AM  Screen shot 2013-09-18 at 11.31.24 AM

Ok, here is the final product! Can you tell the three “goodbyes” now? Screen shot 2013-09-20 at 11.20.24 AM

~ by xilain on September 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
