Letter Poster–Sketches and Failed Experiments

I continued from the result of the last class, and decided to add an icon into the poster. Then Eiffel Tower came into my mind, because it speaks about “i” (pronunciation) and a sense of egocentrics.

Screen shot 2013-10-04 at 10.39.19 AM

However, this towel is too iconic and resembles only the Eiffel Tower. My letter “i” diminishes from the image. I also thought of using only letter i to construct the tower. But however I manipulate the image, the concept of “Eiffel Tower” would dominate my image, so I decided to start over. Oops.

I thought about the design day and night, and came up with other two sketches.  I don’t have them in hand so I will post them in the next post.

I liked the circular i in the original design and wanted to keep it, so I played with the fonts and discovered something visually compulsive. Because of this discovery, I changed my concept from egocentrics to identity, since now the circle looks like it is made up with bones.

I used smaller fonts with letter i around a circle, and accidentally distorted the circle. The result again surprises me. The chain of i’s now look like the DNA double helix. Isn’t this cool–it perfectly matches the word “identity”.

Here comes my next design.

Screen shot 2013-10-04 at 10.38.22 AM

The problem with this poster is that there are too many things to look at, and I lose my focal point. After consulting my fabulous instructor Nell, I divided this poster into two, as follow:

Screen shot 2013-10-04 at 11.51.37 AM

Screen shot 2013-10-04 at 12.51.56 PM

~ by xilain on October 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
