Letter Poster-Critique

Today is the critique day!

Here are my final works, which appeared in previous posts. But in order to make the reflection, here they are again.

My design phrase: “An I is an I is an I.” I as the IDENTITY.

What I learnt:

I really dug into this project in terms of variation and exploration. There were several failed experiments and abandoned sketches. The final result kind of comes at random–by mistakes! This the the largest lesson I learnt from this project. However you want to plan ahead of time, you never know the result.  All my major design elements here came from experiment and accidents, and these accidents proffers me a more effective and provoking result.

Does the poster visually meets the design phrase?

By looking at the posters, the sense of identity is deliberate. The letter “i” is the central design element, the image has a organic landscape.  The organic sense does reflects my phrase of “identity is in the gene, in the bone.”

Does the context reflects the design phrase

My phrase is screaming “identity”, or in other words, “representation”. I think the readers’ focus will flow from the cynosure to the text, and read it line by line, and learn more about the representations/identities of “i” in different subject matters.

Screen shot 2013-10-04 at 12.51.56 PM

Screen shot 2013-10-04 at 11.51.37 AM

20131007-111017.jpg

20131007-111130.jpg

20131008-122818.jpg

~ by xilain on October 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
